Olivia Experiment Public Release

So if anyone’s been curious about The Olivia Experiment, it’s now available publicly via amazon and itunes (you do have to pay though). I think the cheapest option is a one-day rental for $4-5.

Amazon link here. iTunes link here. (ETA: it looks like it’s available on several other platforms like google play as well, but they all seem to have the same pricing).

You can watch the trailer here.

The main character is questioning her a/sexuality, and it also features a Berkeley asexual meetup group in one scene (though they are nowhere as fun or accepting as the real Berkeley asexual meetup group).

Be aware that it does have some really awkward asexual stereotypes (mostly in the beginning), though I think the conclusion of the movie was better done. Overall verdict: treatment of Olivia’s questioning a/sexuality  = pretty decently done. Treatment of all the other asexual characters = pretty poor stereotypes. So it’s a mixed bag, but I think it’s worth taking a look given that explicit asexual representation of any kind is so rare, and there were several genuinely funny/touching scenes.

Also, re: the “have sex to figure out if you are asexual part” that seems to worry a lot of people – they actually handle this part pretty well in the end even though it may not look like they will at first, though I can’t say more without spoilers. But yeah I know it looks really skeevy but that’s not actually a part to worry about (in my opinion anyway, ymmv).

Still waffling on whether to write up a longer review/summary/commentary, would people be interested?

About Sennkestra

I'm an aromantic asexual and a bit of an [a]sexuality nerd, recently graduated from UC Berkeley with a BA in linguistics. When I'm not reading stuff on the internet I like to cook fancy food, watch anime, and make costumes and other arts and crafts projects.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Olivia Experiment Public Release

  1. Pingback: Linkspam: October 17th, 2014 | The Asexual Agenda

  2. tessalsantos says:

    I would definitely be interested to read more on this film. I only heard of it today and the trailer left me a bit uncomfortable because of the “have sex to figure out if you are asexual part” part you mentioned, but everyone seems to be speaking well of the film so I’m a tad confused. More info would definitely be appreciated :D

  3. Nelly says:

    yes please! I’m trying to decide whether to do a showing at my university for Ace Awareness Week, and my own opinion as an allosexual person doesn’t carry much weight.

Leave a Reply

